ATFL Celebrates 2024 Annual Awards Gala Dinner

May 16, 2024

Washington, DC, May 16, 2024. The American Task Force on Lebanon (ATFL), a leadership organization of Americans of Lebanese descent celebrated its annual awards dinner, where it honored individuals of Lebanese descent who have strengthened the ties between Lebanon and the United States, in addition to featuring remarks by dignitaries and policymakers.

The Honorable Spencer Abraham, Chairman of ATFL, served as Master of Ceremonies for the dinner that honored the accomplishments of exceptional individuals working for the betterment of Lebanon and the Middle East:

The Philip C. Habib Award for Distinguished Public Service
The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen, United States Senator (NH)

The Ray R. Irani Lifetime Achievement Award
Leila Fadel, Host of NPR’s Morning Edition and Up First 

The Issam M. Fares International Leadership Award

Elie Saab, Founder and Creative Director of the Elie Saab Group

In a surprise announcement, the Honorable Edward M. Gabriel, President of ATFL and former US Ambassador to Morocco, was presented with the Philip C. Habib Award for Distinguished Public Service. The dinner also featured remarks by US Secretary of State Antony Blinken, former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, Chargé d’Affaires of the Lebanese Embassy Waël Hachem, White House Senior Advisor Amos Hochstein, and US Congressman Darin LaHood (IL).

The event was attended by a diverse audience of Lebanese Americans, US and Lebanese government representatives, and members of the think tank and diplomatic communities. In addition to honoring some remarkable Lebanese Americans, ATFL underscored the continued importance of deescalating tensions on the Lebanon-Israel border to avert a potentially catastrophic war in Lebanon, and the critical need for the country’s political leaders to elect a president and embark on much needed economic reforms.

ATFL is committed to improving the civic, cultural, educational, and charitable ties between both countries while promoting the sovereignty, territorial integrity, and prosperity of a democratic and pluralistic Lebanon.


Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved by ATFL