The Hon. Edward M. Gabriel*

The Hon. Edward M. Gabriel*

President and Chief Executive Officer

Ambassador Edward Gabriel has an extensive background in international affairs, having convened
multilateral policy forums involving national security, trade, and energy issues. He has been involved in
matters of Russian nuclear non-proliferation, and he has been active in advising the US government on
Middle East policy concerns.

In 1997, he became the 16th US Ambassador to the Kingdom of Morocco. Currently, Ambassador Gabriel
is the volunteer President and CEO of the American Task Force on Lebanon, a nonprofit organization that
seeks to build greater understanding and cultural ties between the United States and Lebanon. In August
2022, the US Senate confirmed the nomination by President Biden of Ambassador Gabriel to become a
member of the Board of Directors of the United States Institute of Peace.

Ambassador Gabriel was founding CEO of one of the largest public affairs companies in Washington, the
Madison Public Affairs Group. He was a senior economic analyst with the Department of Energy, and was
founding Executive Director of the Council of Energy Resource Tribes, an association of American Indian
tribes that owned energy resources. He was also Director of the Keystone Policy Center’s Energy Project
which pioneered electricity sector reform.

He serves on the boards of the Keystone Policy Center and Lebanese American University, and is
Chairman Emeritus of the American Schools of Tangier and Marrakech.

Ambassador Gabriel is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Ellis Island Medal of Honor and
ACCESS Arab American of the Year, among others, and was recognized by the FBI for his work on bilateral security issues. He is the recipient of Lebanon’s National Order of the Cedar and Morocco’s Order of the Ouissam Alaouite.

Ambassador Gabriel holds a B.S. degree in business and an Honorary Doctorate of Laws from Gannon
University. He grew up in Olean, NY, and lives in Washington, DC, with his wife, Kathleen Linehan.

view all leadership
Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved by ATFL