Moment of Silence in Congress for Lebanon Bombing Victims

November 19, 2015

On Wednesday evening (November 18), The Hon. Darrell Issa of California, co-chairman of the Congressional Caucus on U.S.-Lebanon Relations, asked for a moment of silence on the floor of the U.S. House of Representatives to honor the 43 killed and the approximately 200 wounded in the ISIS-claimed twin suicide bombings in Beirut on November 12. In addition to those lost in the Russian airliner bombing and the Paris attacks, he noted that ISIS was responsible for 400 murders in a two-week period.


Representative Issa was joined by other members of this bipartisan caucus, including co-chair Representative Gwen Graham of Florida and Representatives Ralph Abraham of Louisiana, Charles Boustany of Louisiana, Debbie Dingell of Michigan, Trent Franks of Arizona, Richard Hanna of New York, Joe Kennedy of Massachusetts, Marcy Kaptur of Ohio, Darin LaHood of Illinois, Ed Royce of California, Mike Turner of Ohio, and Steve Womack of Arkansas.


Speaker of the House Paul Ryan asked all members to rise to join in the solemn moment of silence.

Representative Issa also asked his colleagues to join in supporting a resolution sponsored by Representative Richard Hanna, condemning the bombings in Beirut, showing support for Lebanon, and urging the administration to do everything in its power to bring those responsible to justice. The resolution will be introduced on Thursday and ATFL will provide you the text as soon as it is finalized.




Please reload

Featured Posts

Give Now, Give Later: Spirit of America is Helping Lebanese Families with Basic Food Supplies

June 30, 2020

Please reload

Recent Posts